Spicy Golden Beetroot and Carrot Soup

Y’know, I actually hate using the word ‘spicy’ in the title of a recipe. Although, I couldn’t bring myself to use the word ‘Indian’ or ‘Indian spiced’, because it would make me sound like a knob. Also, I don’t even know if they could be classed as Indian. They just tasted good in the soup.

Anyway, that’s not the point. The point is that soup is easy to make, so you don’t really need a recipe – however, when you’ve got absolutely gorgeous fresh produce like the golden beetroots I got from Katie at Farm Gate (you can follow Katie on Twitter here) while at their stall at Marrickville Markets, you have to show them off.

Golden Beetroot

Ingredients

3 HUGE golden beetroot (or about 6 regular size), peeled and cut into chunks
1 kilo carrots, sliced into 1 inch pieces
3 litres vegetable stock
1 onion, diced
1 clove garlic, finely sliced
1-2 birds eye chillies, deseeded if you’re a wuss
A thumb-sized piece of ginger, grated
About a tablespoon each of cumin seeds, fenugreek seeds, black mustard seeds
About a tablespoon or two of sunflower oil
Plenty of salt and pepper

Method

– Dry fry the cumin and fenugreek seeds in a pan until fragrant, then crush with a mortar and pestle.
– Add the oil to a large stock pot and fry the onion, garlic, chilli, ginger, mustard seeds, crushed cumin and fenugreek and some pepper. Be careful not to burn the garlic!
– Add the vegetables all in one go, stirring to coat in the oil and spices. I always let the vegetables fry off a little, stirring to ensure they don’t burn, but I’m not sure if this makes much difference to the flavour. It’s a habit I cannot break, though.
– Add the stock. DO NOT USE POWDERED OR PREMADE STOCK. I implore you, please, please, please make your own stock. It makes a world of difference.
– Bring the vegetables to the boil and let them cook for a good 10 minutes, then turn down to a simmer, put the lid on, and let it simmer away for as long as you like, ensuring you check back on it now and then to make sure the liquid hasn’t evaporated.
– When the vegetables are soft and squishy, season with salt and more cracked pepper. Simmer for a few minutes more.
– Turn off the heat and let the soup cool down enough to puree in a blender. Alternatively, if you’re lucky enough to have a stick blender (I’m not. Woe is me. Actually, I don’t even own the blender I use), puree the soup using that. It’s much easier.
– Taste for seasoning and serve, or do what I did and freeze it for lunch during the week.

See? Simple. It’s not really a recipe, more ‘This is What I Did With Fabulous Ingredients’. The soup was beautifully sweet, and I don’t think it would have been as good had I not gone to my local farmer’s markets and bought most of my ingredients there. That’s really the point of this post.

I have many, many more photos to add to this post but, sadly, I can’t find the USB cord to my camera. I’ll find it one day, so check back soon.

This entry was posted in Cooking Sunday. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spicy Golden Beetroot and Carrot Soup

  1. Reemski says:

    YUM. I just received a couple of these stunning golden beauties and some of their carrots. Just need to do some stock.

    • Chasy says:

      They are so, so, so, SO SWEET. I was seriously stunned by the flavour once the soup had finished cooking. Katie and Beau should be very proud!

Leave a Reply

