Marrickville Rd Cafe

Despite having lived in Marrickville for almost two years now, and constantly complaining about the coffee, I had managed to skip trying this place. Possibly because it doesn’t look like much from the outside. It does, however, have a very modern, very now, look on the inside. Hipster charm? Possibly. Mismatched secondhand furniture and a wall mural are certainly big hipster tick boxes.

Do they do good coffee?

Well, I drank all of it, so it couldn’t have been poison. It wasn’t the best I’ve ever had, though. I couldn’t tell which brand they were using, either. Probably should have asked.

I think the toys they supply to keep the kids entertained is probably what kept me there long enough to order food. I fucking love it when I find a cafe with toys. I’ll even go to shit cafes if I know my 3 year old will be entertained.

So, do they do good food?

They get an A for effort, but a C for execution. I loved the idea of Eggs Florentine on Potato Fritters ($14.50, special of the day), but it was lacking in a few areas. The woody ends of the asparagus hadn’t been trimmed properly (also, it’s not in season). They deserve praise for making their own Hollandaise, but it was a little too heavy on the vinegar. Also, the dish had surprise mushrooms. Not that I care, but some people are allergic, or just don’t like them. They should make sure all staff are aware of these sorts of things. The potato fritters were good, but not great. It was a cooked grated potato and carrot mix. It seemed a little too moist.

All in all, what’s coming out of the kitchen are dishes designed by someone who understands good food, but doesn’t have the technical skill to pull it off.

Will I buy again? Yes. It’s reasonably priced, they welcome children and the food and coffee doesn’t suck.

Marrickville Rd Cafe
u1/212 Marrickville Road
Marrickville NSW 2204
(02) 9568 5485

This entry was posted in Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Marrickville Rd Cafe

  1. Dad says:

    I’ve never known a mushroom to say “surprise”, where do you get them?

Leave a Reply

